Home | Register | Login | Contact Us

 
Auto Math
Classifieds
Forum
Gallery
Games
Garage
Tech Articles
Utilites
 
FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    RegisterRegister    Log inLog in    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Forum Subscriptions1/4 Mile Table 

data logging (dont buy LM2)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMOKEmUP.com Forum Index -> Tools
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Big Dave
Moderator


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 2646
Location: Tampa Florida
119973.02 points



PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keith Ya want I should make sumptin happen to that last post? Ya don't want no feds readn' dat does ya?

Big Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing Laughing Laughing

as i type, im sitting next to a 55 Nomad with a carbed LSX 454. then theres the 61 Impala with the hilborn stack injection on a 409.......

i get the feeling im going to be data logging with a wideband at work A LOT.

_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clay
Moderator


Joined: 24 Nov 2002
Posts: 3209
Location: South Carolina
318129.23 points


1972 Chevrolet Nova

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing Laughing Twisted Evil . I can't touch that idea. Now you're cooking with gas........Clay
_________________
I have done so much with so little for so long, I can now do anything with nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, it took forever but i bought the LM2 last year and hooked it up a couple months ago. rpm wouldnt read. after a few calls to Innovate, they had me send it in. they worked on it and sent it back. no charge but it still wont read rpm. im using the analog cable wired directly to my MSD. ill have to call innovate tomorrow and see if im going to have to use that cheesy inductive clamp instead. this is getting really old. are there any other datalogger setups out there, without spending $500+, that actually work ?
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I talked to innovate and did some research. the next thing i have to try is install a 100K potentiometer to try to fine tune the signal from the MSD. Innovate also said the inductive probe wouldnt work with the MSD. i was told the same thing about my timing light and it works perfectly. we will see. i find it annoying that any cheapo tach can read that signal but a high tech instrument cant disgusted
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?



Last edited by 10sec.et on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

also wondering exactly what they "repaired" if its still doing the same thing Confused
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SMOKEmUP
PostMaster


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 3169

65097.54 points


1979 Chevrolet Camaro

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which MSD box do you have?

How is it wired to LM2?

Below is a snippet from the online manual. Have you tried both options for Tach input source?

LM2 Manual wrote:

Configure RPM
1. Press and hold the Mode button to go into the Configuration Menu Screen
2. Select RPM and press the Enter button.
3. Select Configure RPM and press the Enter button.
4. You will now have the option of selecting the Tach input source, use the arrows to change the selection. 0 is the input from the Analog Cable, 1 is the input from the Inductive Clamp. Press Enter.
5. You will not have the option to select the ‘Polarity.’ Rising Edge is the most common way to measure a tach signal. If you find that your readings are very erratic you should change this setting to Falling Edge. Press Enter.
6. Select the RPM range. Options are 10230 RPM or 20460 RPM. Press Enter.
7. Select Pulses per Rotation. Yours should be 4 with a calibrate # 7.

_________________
Stop running from your pain and embrace your pain. Your pain is going to be a part of your prize.

I challenge you to push yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SMOKEmUP
PostMaster


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 3169

65097.54 points


1979 Chevrolet Camaro

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently purchased an LC1 which I'm putting on the 02 Z28 and noticed on the software installation instructions for logworks saying a sound card is required for RPM signal. Does the pc have a sound card which working correctly?
_________________
Stop running from your pain and embrace your pain. Your pain is going to be a part of your prize.

I challenge you to push yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a MSD 6AL2. the LM2 is wired directly to ther grey tach output wire. this MSD came out of a running car with EFI using that same signal wire. my tach works well off of it too. as far as sound cards, im just looking at the screen on the LM2 handheld. my laptop does mimic what is on the LM2. this weekend ill try messing with it again. thanks for the suggestions. keep em coming. Very Happy
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SMOKEmUP
PostMaster


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 3169

65097.54 points


1979 Chevrolet Camaro

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using a common ground point for the MSD and the LM2?

Have you tried using the LM2 on another car?

_________________
Stop running from your pain and embrace your pain. Your pain is going to be a part of your prize.

I challenge you to push yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Paul P
Member


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2404
Location: Townsend, Mass.
81616.60 points


1971 Chevrolet Chevelle

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point about the common ground. Remember the dyno guy the other day wanted to connect at a different point other than the ground the MSD was directly using just in case.
_________________
2001 Focus 2.0 Zetec
stock cams, bolt-ons and tune
15.63@87 MPH 1/4mi

1971 - Chevelle 408 SBC N/A
6.86@102.5 MPH 1/8mi
10.78@122 MPH 1/4mi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think my ground points are different but ill have to look. i hadnt thought about trying it on something else Idea. i could put it on the impala . ill give that a try this weekend.
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, shit. i tried the potentiometer and everything else.... still no rpm reading in the Olds. i hooked it up in the Impala and it reads flawlessly. so, it cant read the tach signal out of my MSD. WTF am i supposed to do now? any idea how to get a good tach signal?
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any idea how to use the magnetic pickup as a tach signal ? what type of signal is produced by the msd?
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
10sec.et
Member


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 3473
Location: Houston,Texas
346658.74 points


1969 Oldsmobile Cutlass

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, ive tried so many different things here i dont even remember what ive done. basically, the LM2 needs a near perfect tach signal to work. i did try my inductive probe. with some calibration adjustments in the LM2 it read pretty decent but at idle was about 200 rpm slow. no telling how far off it is at higher rpm. my next best option is to use the MSD 8918 signal pickup http://www.msdignition.com/Products/Accessories/Tach_Adapters/8918_-_Tach_Signal_GMR_Pickup.aspx. we have one at work i can borrow to test.
_________________
af2 wrote:
It seems we can look at our magical Balls and come up with a fix?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMOKEmUP.com Forum Index -> Tools All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Home | Contact Us | Automath | Cam Files | Dyno Search | Forum | Garage | Picture Gallery | Reaction Timer

Copyright © 1997-2016 SMOKEmUP.com All rights reserved.
Advertising Info     Disclaimer     Privacy Policy