Auto Math
Classifieds
Forum
Gallery
Games
Garage
Tech Articles
Utilites

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    RegisterRegister    Log inLog in    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Forum Subscriptions1/4 Mile Table 

Torque Monster... Well, not quite
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMOKEmUP.com Forum Index -> Chevy - Small Block Gen 1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cheyenne91

366.44 points

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:20 pm    Post subject: Torque Monster... Well, not quite Reply with quote

I stumbled onto this forum tonight researching how I'd like to build the engine for my truck. The members seem knowlegeable and hopefully may be able to lend some advice. I've had plenty of experience rebuilding and tweaking Briggs and Kohler engines, but this is my first go at SBC.

I have a 1991 K1500. It's powered by a TBI 4.3 good for putting back and forth, towing... very slowly, and used to be good for 20mpg. She's been a good engine, and exactly what I was looking for four years ago... But times and tastes change... that and my tolerance for oil leaks. I'd like to upgrade, keep mpg in the high(er) teens and trade the rest for low end power and acceleration. It's not going to be a race truck. I tow a 14ft landscaping trailer carrying lawn equipment, aircooled VW's, or the occasional Falcon. My basic concerns are low end torque, fuel economy for when I'm not towing, and due to the ever-fluctuating cost of gas, using 87 octane. TBI and EGR are staying, and WINALDL will be a necessity after the rebuild.

At the moment it uses an open rear with 3.42's. Eventually it's getting upgraded to 3.73's w/ posi, and whatever front axle ratio matches. The 700R4 was rebuilt 10k ago with upgraded internals, external cooler, as well as a hardened sunshell and vette servo.