Auto Math
Classifieds
Forum
Gallery
Games
Garage
Tech Articles
Utilites

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    RegisterRegister    Log inLog in    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Forum Subscriptions1/4 Mile Table 

400 cid sb chevy
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    SMOKEmUP.com Forum Index -> Chevy - Small Block Gen 1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
violator423

599.58 points

1978 Chevrolet Caprice

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:39 pm    Post subject: 400 cid sb chevy Reply with quote

hi everyone my name is tone this is my first post Rolling Eyes im 24 been working on cars and anything with moving parts since i was 11. and i work as a diesel mechanic.well enought about me. anyways i used to be into imports mainly but have owned a 1978 impala for about 2 years. well when i got the car it wasn't anywhere near running i got that part done. now the other day i bought a 400 sb for 500 bucks cash and carry to replace the 305 thats in the imppy now. i have been tearing at the motor to make sure eveything is ok only thing i have found so far is that one pushrod was bent ever so slightly. everytime i pull apart of the engine i find out more and more stuff. the engine was painted chevy orange and black well i scraped some paint of the timing cover and low and behold chrome. scraped some paint of the freeze plug and they all looked new so im thinking someone has rebuilt this motor before. yep pulled the oil pan newer main caps double roller timing chain (ha and i just bought a brand new one) lol also the piston aren't stock from what a coworker has told me there flat top pistons he said the stocks were domed. is this true?? all the lifters look good and so does the cam no wear at all so im thinking this motor was almost completely rebuilt. i intake was stock and has weathered as for the carb also. i planed on getting a edelbrock performer intake and a performer 650 carb. good combo???? only thing the engine d